h1

Human Condition

May 20, 2006

simg_t_oe38954zb24v.jpg

Human Condition was essentially a one-man-band project by Gary Egger. Human Condition was perhaps the best of all the Christian groups that tried to sound like The Cure; indeed. they were so good at it that the self-titled debut album was criticized as the work of an imitative tribute band. But True Tunes would grant that on the sophomore Impressions of Grace Egger allows "influence to be influence and develops his own mode of Euro-alternative pop." Lyrically, the latter album is true to it's name, offering glimpses of hope and beauty amidst a soundscape of "dark shades and haunting atmospheres."

Similar artist : Simple Minds

Audio Sample : 90 seconds

11 comments

  1. I played drums on that record. Wow, a few HTML code lines of fame 20+ years later.


  2. Scott, your 15 minutes of fame is up! : p Just kiddin, Nice for you to drop by. Did you play as well in a band called Mercy -Christian post punk band?


    • Gary and I played a few shows with Mercy (We shared a set at Cornerstone ’93). Later I played drums on a second album (they changed the band name to Submission Blue). I don’t think the album was ever released.


      • Gary and I played a few shows with Mercy (We shared a set at Cornerstone ’93). Later I played drums on a second album (they changed the band name to Submission Blue). I don’t think the album was ever released.

        I don’t get The Cure references for H.C. Certainly they were an influence on Gary’s writing, but not nearly as much as artists like Peter Murphy or Roxy Music. Neither H.C. albums sound much like the Cure to me.


  3. i had this, too. wow. takes me back…


  4. yeah. I had the first cd back when it was on image records. I keep hoping Gary is still doing stuff now, because his stuff was edgy back in the day. I can only imagine how edgy it would be now.


  5. Tim McAllister here – well… The details are a bit off. World Theatre was my band, though Gary did play on it, and I was the one who played with Servant.

    I really enjoyed playing with Gary. I recorded an earlier incarnation of Garys band (which included Scott on drums) called envoy.

    Great guys…

    see my new work at timmcallister.com

    peace!


  6. Tim, modified the correct write-up for Human Condition. Thank you for pointing out the corrections.

    Which Servant album did you play in. We’re talking of Sandie and Owen Brock’s Servant are we? : )

    Listened to the new material you had and I’m liking it, really good stuff. We’re glad your back making alternative music again. We thought that you were pretty much pre-occupied in making Blues music with Papa Salty. : p

    Keep up the good work Tim, Looking to get your new album!


  7. Yes – the owen and sandie version :-) I played guitar on the road with them. It was like 87 ??? wow. that was 20 years ago. I am so old. No albums were made those last few years. Linford/Bryan/Rich from OtR played with them after I left. Well, I didn’t really *leave*, we all lived in the same neighborhood.

    so, is christiannewwave Johny ? email me your street addy. I’ll send you out a copy of the new cd.


  8. I DO HAVE THIS ON MY COLLECTION AND AS WELL WORLD THEATRE,WHAT A WONDERFUL MUSIC YOU HAVE DONE GUYS,I LOVE FLOCK 14(WORLD THEATRE)VECTOR)BLUE NILE)SURPRISE,CRUMBECHER)(ALTAR BOYS)MY FAVO TRACKS FROM WORLD THEATRE ARE-DREAM ITS SAFE AND 10 YEARS,,WWW.MYSPACE.COM/ROBERTIGNO http://WWW.FIRESTREAM.NET


  9. I’ve always really enjoyed both Human Condition albums after finding them in a bargain bin at a used cd store. Never understood why I had never heard of them as a kid when I only listened to ccm.

    It also seems a bit crazy to me that someone would call them a Cure Tribute band! The albums sound much more like Peter Murphy than The Cure to me.



Leave a Reply

