h1

Ishmael United

June 2, 2006

Ishmael.jpgThe many incarnations of Ishmael were all projects of the zany British rocker Ian Smale, who adopted that stage name in the eary 70's. Ishmael and Andy were a duo consisting of Smale and Andy Piercy (who later fronted After the Fire, best known to Americans for their 80's hit "Der Komissar").

Ishmael United's album "If You Can't Shout Saved!" broke boundaries, especially in the United States (where it was released on StarSong). CCM regard it as "the first new-wave Christian record", prefiguring the work of David Edwards, Steve Taylor and Sheila Walsh. The band takes a sarcastic look at smug Christian attitudes in songs delivered with raw power.

Similar artist : The Specials 

www.ishmael.org.uk

Audio Sample : 90 seconds

9 comments

  1. you can still find this. ishmael will rip copies of it. go to:
    http://www.ishmael.org.uk/acatalog/Ishmael_Direct_Ishmael_s_CD_Back_Catalogue_5.html


  2. A friend of mine in British Columbia introduced me to Ishmael United “Saved” back in 1992 (he spelled it “Ismael United”, that’s why it took me a while to find it here. It was an old cassette tape, and I would love to somehow find the record again. I love the songs “Song of the Last Generation” and “Jesus is Making a Comeback” very much. Can it be released again? I’m sure some kids today would appreciate the “Saved” nowadays! -An old Ishmael United fan from just south of the Canadian Border, Armen :)


  3. It was the mid 80’s and I had the starsong release of If you can’t shout saved. I gave it to a fellow youth worker who lent it to one of his students who played it for her boyfriend. Then, the boy broke up with the girl, who stopped going to youth group and bottom line I never saw the album again. Nobody has ever heard of it and now years later, I have a possibility to buy it on a double cd for 8 pounds. So I am not sure, because 8 pounds and 9 ounces is how much my first two children weighed they were born. If I buy it that only gives me 9 ounces left of one of my kids from when they were a baby.
    Seriously, how much is 8 pounds and is there any way to get a copy on this side of the pond? Not to be confused with 8 ponds and 9 ounces.


  4. It was the mid 80’s and I had the starsong release of If you can’t shout saved. I gave it to a fellow youth worker who lent it to one of his students who played it for her boyfriend. Then, the boy broke up with the girl, who stopped going to youth group and bottom line I never saw the album again. Nobody has ever heard of it and now years later, I have a possibility to buy it on a double cd for 8 pounds. So I am not sure, because 8 pounds and 9 ounces is how much my first two children weighed they were born. If I buy it that only gives me 9 ounces left of one of my kids from when they were a baby.
    Seriously, how much is 8 pounds and is there any way to get a copy on this side of the pond? Not to be confused with 8 ponds and 9 ounces.


  5. I have all just drop an e-mail to tocytbk@yahoo.com
    the subject have to be Ishmael United !
    God bless you all :D


  6. where can i find this?


  7. loved loved loved this album when it came out. The Glory Song is a regular of ours around the campfire even today! looking for a digital replacement now for the cassette i’ve been playing for the last couple of decades.


  8. I think it’s really a kind of sin, to release such an inspired work, and then not be a Steward and keep it available in the new digital format to a new generation of listeners, and the previous generation who still thirsts for it.


  9. Not New Wave, really. It’s Punk. Except for a few children’s songs at the end, as I remember. Got my copy in ’79 I think. Or ’80.



Leave a Reply

