h1

The Violet Burning

September 5, 2006

violet-burning.jpg

The Violet Burning is one of the great and influential Christian rock groups. They established themselves with constant touring of the United States and Europe. The Violets can deliver a moving experience that few can deny both live and in the studio. The Violets cite Leonard Cohen, The Beatles, New Order and Spiritualized as some of their influences.

The Violet Burning are lead by singer/songwriter Michael Pritzl. Since borrowing his sister’s old beat up guitar, Michael has come a long way. He has released over a decade’s worth of albums ranging from what some call the original modern worship record, his countless Violet Burning releases, and solo projects. Looking back Michael says, “I have been able to travel throughout America and Europe sharing the gospel. It is truly humbling when I look back on what God has done in my life.”

Similar artist : The Cure

www.thevioletburning.com

Audio Sample : 90 seconds

8 comments

  1. Cool vid. I’ve never seen that one before. And it’s from their best album too. :)


  2. I love the older albums like Strength and Chosen. underrated band with great melodies and a good Christian message.


  3. The two albums I’ve heard are “Chosen” (the first) and “The Violet Burning” (the third, I believe). The self-titled is a really powerful and introspective record. “Chosen” has its moments and sound VERY much like its Vineyard Church origins, but unfortunately the songcraft and production are not quite as solid; you can tell they’re still looking for their sound an haven’t quite found it yet (although they’re close). It would be fun to hear “Strength”; hopefully I’ll stumble across a copy of it soon. I spoke with a gentleman who produced a couple of the tracks on that album and he was easily one of the nicest veteran music people I’ve ever spoken to.


  4. I own an album buy these guys and I just think theyre great. I luv the songs humm and Rewind. I had the chance to see them in SF Oct 12th 2006 and they were killer. Check them out!


  5. I own an album buy these guys and I just think theyre great. I luv the songs humm and Rewind. I had the chance to see them in SF Oct 12th 2006 and they were killer. The singer talked about the UK SUBS inbetween songs then talked about Jesus. Very cool. I was found when I was a punk rocker, Im still a punk rocker, but now I have Christ and I think Jesus is kinda Punk rock. Check them out!


  6. “Punks not dead and so is Jesus!” – David Pierce (NLM)


  7. i still count the first THERE IS NOWHERE ELSE as one of my favorite guitar solos of all time. That first record has soooo much passion….


  8. Your site is perfect!



Leave a Reply

